Don’t Be Afraid, It’s Me, God – Matthew 14:22-36

I like this picture because it doesn’t ignore the fact that – aside from sinking – there are other logistical difficulties to walking on water in a storm.  Plus, Jesus looks like He’s nonchalantly waving “Hey guys!”

By the way, we’re half way through Matthew everyone!

  • V22-23 – Finally, finally He gets some time alone with His Father.  I bet that since He had a perfect relationship with His Father and could so intimately know and be known without the sin that frustrates our human relationships, their quiet time was really, really sweet and it would be hard to go long in between those meetings.

◊ Do I look forward to quiet time talking with my Heavenly Father?  (I used to be really awkward at praying; it kind of felt like I was floundering in a pool, so I decided to take some “swimming lessons” and read a book on prayer and attended a couple of classes and it really helped.  I highly recommend the book Prayer by Richard Foster.  Highly.)

  • V23 – My ESV says He’s also praying in preparation to go to the Gentiles (15:21).

◊ Do I pray for direction and strength before taking on a big challenge or a “next step” in my journey?

  • V24 – My ESV says they were about 3 miles out and the lake would’ve been 4-5 miles wide at that point.  They’ve been battling the wind for about 9 hours and it’s now between 3-6am.

◊ Sometimes Jesus miraculously calms our storms, sometimes He asks us to battle through them.

  • V25-26 – Hee hee hee!  I just love Jesus’ sense of humor!
  • V26-32 – I’d like to make a movie of the life of Jesus because of scenes like this.  I love to imagine these 12 dudes screaming in terror and what kind of fight or flight reactions they’re having at this moment.  Then Jesus says “Don’t worry, it’s just me!”  Oh, well now the world makes sense again.  It’s just Jesus WALKING ACROSS THE WAVES!  I also like to think of Jesus’ smile when they call Him the Son of God.
  • V27 – What a reassurance!  There have been a few times in my life I’ve wished I could audibly hear those words.  Interesting note, my study Bibles say the phrase He used was “I AM” just like God in Exodus 3:14.
  • V28-29 – Peter!  What a guy!  He sees Jesus walking on water and he wants to have a go!

◊ Do I have confidence that if Jesus asks me to do something, I’ll be able to do it, even if it doesn’t make sense?  Is there a “boat” I’m in that Jesus is asking me to get out of?

  • V30 – He took his eyes off Jesus and started to think that there were elements more powerful than Jesus.  (Why else would he be afraid?)

◊ What am I afraid of?  Is that thing more powerful than Christ in me?  (My son and I sing 2 Timothy 1:7 when he says he’s afraid of the “ghost snake” at night.  “God did not give us a spirit that makes us afraid!  He gave us a spirit of power and love and self-control.  A-doo-doo-doo-do-wah-wah.  (That last bit isn’t in the Bible.)  When I keep my eyes on Jesus (or my focus on who I am serving and why, for those of us who have a hard time talking in figurative speech) I realize “Hey!  I’m with the guy who can calm storms, read minds, walk on water, and bring people back from death.  I don’t have much to worry about!”

  • V31 – Jesus doesn’t let him just sink – He’s not like “You should’ve trusted me, I’m gonna give you a little scare to teach you a lesson.”  He reaches out the second Peter asks for help.

◊ When I feel like I’m sinking, do I call to Jesus to rescue me?

  • V31 – I’m still convinced Jesus uses “Little Faith” as an affectionate term.  I don’t think He’s berating Peter here, but is saying this like a kind dad would to his son who thought he dad would drop him.
  • V32 – Of course the wind ceased.  After the day Jesus had, I don’t think He wanted to spend the rest of the night rowing!
  • V33 – This is a big moment for the disciples.  My ESV says this is the only time in Matthew the disciples use this full title for Jesus.

◊ Have I confessed that Jesus truly is the Son of God?

  • V34-36 – Quiet time’s over Jesus!  He’s right back into the thick of things.  Anyone who’s ever been pregnant or extremely famous can tell you that having strangers feel free to touch you is a deeply unnerving and annoying experience.  Jesus doesn’t seem to have a personal bubble.
  • V36 – When this happened before (9:20-22) Jesus said it was the woman’s faith that healed her.  This may be the case again – it’s pretty easy to have faith you’ll be healed when you see it working for everyone around you.  I don’t think His clothes are necessarily magical – although that would definitely make them worth gambling for (27:35).

Wrap up your quiet time by praying through the following questions:

  • Based on this passage of Scripture, what can I thank God for?
  • What do these verses tell me about God and His character?
  • Based on this passage, is there anything I need to confess to God and ask forgiveness for?
  • What do these verses remind me to pray for others?
  • What do these verses move me to pray for myself?
About knockinguntilitopens

I am a Christ follower, a wife, a mom, and a creator. I like to share my stuff.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Matthew 8-14 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

