Waiting – Matthew 27:55-66

This passage is short and I didn’t have much to say about it because I wanted to think about everything that just happened the day before and to sit in the emotions that the disciples and particularly the women who followed Him would have been feeling.

  • V55 – What an awful thing to witness, especially as a woman and a mom.  When everyone else had deserted, the women were faithfully there.  I like that the ESV translates it “ministering to Him” because their caring and provision of food and necessities throughout His ministry was a ministry in and of itself.

◊ How can I minister to my ministers?

  • V57 – Read Luke 23:50-51 for a little more about Joseph.  It’s a good thing Joseph stepped in with his political clout (to talk to Pilate) and resources.  At this late hour in the day, it would have been difficult for anyone else to accomplish all of this in such a short time.

◊ Is there a way I can help someone in need that others can’t?  What are my gifts?  Have experiences from my past equipped me in a unique way?

  • V58-60 – This fulfilled Isaiah 53:9.
  • V61 – I wonder if they are simply mourning and want to remain as close to Jesus as possible or if they are waiting for something to happen.
  • V63 – If these guys remember, surely some of His followers remember.  Surely there is still a spark of hope.
  • V66 – I would like to know all the emotions and thoughts that were running through the heads of the Pharisees, the women, and the disciples at this moment.

Wrap up your quiet time by praying through the following questions:

  • Based on this passage of Scripture, what can I thank God for?
  • What do these verses tell me about God and His character?
  • Based on this passage, is there anything I need to confess to God and ask forgiveness for?
  • What do these verses remind me to pray for others?
  • What do these verses move me to pray for myself?
About knockinguntilitopens

I am a Christ follower, a wife, a mom, and a creator. I like to share my stuff.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Matthew 22-28 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

